You will notice next to the destinations in your Switchboard account there is a toggle button that will allow you to stream privately to YouTube or a Facebook profile.
The private toggle only works for YouTube channels or Facebook profiles (not Facebook Groups or Pages)
Enable the Private Button In Switchboard
Click on the toggle to change the visibility status from public to private.
- Gray means the live video stream will be Private
- Green means the live video stream will be Public.
Press the Go Live button for the Facebook Profile or YouTube channel.
When you Go Live to the YouTube destination, the video will be private and only visible to people that have log-in credentials for the YouTube channel.
To quickly access the video and check the visibility, click on the social icon within the destination group.
The word "private" and a closed lock will display below the YouTube video.
Live Stream as an Unlisted Video to YouTube
The steps below will show you how to live stream an Unlisted video from Switchboard to YouTube.
For unlisted live streaming to YouTube, you'll need to log into the YouTube channel and change the visibility settings. To ensure that the live videos are not visible to the public, we recommend turning the toggle to the private setting inside of Switchboard first.
While you are live streaming, log into the appropriate YouTube channel, or quickly access it by clicking on the social icon from the Switchboard dashboard.
Click the Edit button to access the video’s settings.
Go to the Privacy section of the page.
There you’ll see the option to mark your video as “unlisted”, “public”, or “private”.
Click the Save button top right.
The visibility will be changed to unlisted and the new status will display below the video playback.
Please keep in mind that an Unlisted YouTube video is still public, but it will not be displayed on the search results. Anyone with the link will be able to view the unlisted video.
Check out the resources below: